do Buddhists go to church? (again)

Standard

the Mahabodhi Temple, in Bodhgaya, India

At least a couple of times a week, someone is led to my blog by doing a Google search for, “do Buddhist go to Church?”

I responded to this question before, basically with a, “If they want to…” and it’s the fourth most read post on my blog, but I realized it could have another answer. I just had to see through the vocabulary.

I think some people are actually wondering what building Buddhist go to pray, so if you are led here with this question, the answer is that Buddhist go to Buddhist temples (unless they prefer the local Church, Cathedral, Hindu Temple, Synagogue, Mosque, or space in their own home, etc…). Each place I’ve visited, in Asia, has their own unique style of temple and ceremony, but they are (mostly) also quite similar.

BongEunSa, Seoul, Korea

Kiyomizu-Dera, Kyoto, Japan

Longshan Temple, Taipei, Taiwan (a mix of Buddhism and Tao)

a temple roof in Bangkok, Thailand

previous post:

http://somewhereindhamma.wordpress.com/2009/03/20/do-buddhists-go-to-church/

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Do Buddhists go to Church? « Somewhere in Dhamma…

    • hello Arti~
      thank you for your comment!
      if you’re heading in the direction of Kolkata eventually, Bodh Gaya is pretty much on the way…
      The place I found the most peace in was Kushinagar, relatively close to Varanasi, but still a good trek!
      Enjoy your travels!

  2. Dear Joseph,

    As a personal response, I do indeed go to church – as my wife is Christian, and I a mediator, my preference is not important. More than that, I sing and listen with intensity and authenticity – and have a great service. Not knowing what the appropriate word to use here, I will borrow “meta-cognition of gross reality” while at church – or anywhere for that matter. I recognize that Buddhism for me can not be embraced or followed but only tread upon and dismantled, one arduous step at a time. I may never step inside a temple again, but even that doesn’t matter.

    Thanks for the pics – you get the ones I always wanted to shoot!

Leave a Reply

