Do Buddhists go to Church?

Standard

If they want to…  ^^

Buddhism emphasises respect of all religions and that the foundation of all religions is basically the same.

My best friend is a Buddhist but he occasionally feels an urge to attend Catholic mass. On the Buddhist side of that, there’s no one who can say he shouldn’t.

If you are already Catholic, or Christian, Buddhist teaching can still be studied without having to “be” Buddhist yourself. There’s no reason you’d have to stop going to Church.

for more on the topic, you can click:

https://somewhereindhamma.wordpress.com/2010/04/09/do-buddhists-go-to-church-again/

2 responses »

  1. Hi Joseph,

    I agree with you entirely. Thank you for a short but clear post.

    “My best friend is a Buddhist but he occasionally feels an urge to attend Catholic mass. On the Buddhist side of that, there’s no one who can say he shouldn’t.”

    Yes. Sadly, I do sometimes hear Buddhists say that a Buddhist shouldn’t ever go to church, but these voices are a minority, few and far between, and ardly reflect the generosity of spirit generally found in Buddhism.

    Wonderfully, in my experience, it’s the same on the Christian side too. My old friend Owen Hardwicke, a Catholic priest from Wales who I have known for over 25 years, sent me a letter expressing his delight when I took formal Buddhist refuge.

    And I notice that in the US a Buddhist has just been made an Anglican Bishop: http://monkeymindonline.blogspot.com/2009/03/anglican-buddhist-bishop.html
    There were one or two voices of dissent but, just as on the Buddhist side, these are a minority and few and far between.

    There is a rich and beautiful overlap between Christianity and Buddhism. Of course the name Thomas Merton springs instantly to mind. I recently went on a pilgimage to where he died organised by a group of Christian meditators and led by Cyprian Consiglio, a Camaldolese monk who teaches in the tradition of Bede Griffiths. There’s a deep tradition.

    That isn’t to say its an easy path to find oneself on. But, I think, it gets easier as time goes by and your practice gets deeper.

    For myself, my practice is mainly Buddhist, but trying to deny the beauty, depth, wisdom, compassion and usefulness of the Christianity of my religious and cultural background would be like trying to hack off a limb. The Christian part of my Buddhist life makes me complete.

    All beings, one Buddha-nature,

    Marcus

  2. Pingback: do Buddhists go to church? (again) « Somewhere in Dhamma…

Leave a Reply

