Aren’t all the Yanas Mahayanas?

Standard

I spent a bit of time glancing through the posts of a year and a half of struggles and progressions. Some posts I removed, some I edited, some I found good reminders to myself. I also saw a lot of amazing comments from others, some of which I didn’t understand completely at the time, and a few I still need a bit of time with.

I realized one of my biggest obstacles was trying to compare the different types of Buddhism, qualifying and them and treating them more like rival baseball teams than paths to enlightenment. Take off the uniforms and what’s left?

5 responses »

  1. I am comparing the different types of Buddhism as well.

    I was almost a Christian when I was 15 because of peer pressure.

    I choose to be a Buddhist and I am learning more about Buddhism now. That’s why your blog attracted me much.

  2. It’s tough not to compare. When you dedicate your life to something, hoping to reach a pinnacle of achievement/happiness/enlightenment, it makes sense to be concerned about being on the “right path.”

    It’s so difficult for us because we do know of the various brands of Buddhism (not to mention the other religions, all vying for the “truth”) so it’s natural to want to pick the most efficacious (sp?) one.

    However, all of them do seem to help bring out the desired states of peace, happiness, and other-concern.

  3. Haha, here’s a story that offers another perspective on trying to ascend the “right path.” Excerpted from “Chop Wood, Carry Water.”

    Whether the focus of our spiritual practice is prayer, meditation, listening to inner guidance, or some combination of the three, all of us fall prey to the same mistake–trying too hard. The following Zen story, “Try Softer,” offers sage advice on achieving that delicate balance between letting go and disciplining ourselves.

    “A young boy traveled across Japan to the school of a famous martial artist. When he arrived at the dojo he was given an audience by the sensei.

    ‘What do you wish from me?’ the Master asked.
    ‘I wish to be your student and become the finest karateka in the land,’ the boy replied. ‘How long must I study?’
    ‘Ten years at least,’ the Master answered.
    ‘Ten years is a long time,’ said the boy. ‘What if I studied twice as hard as all your other students?”
    ‘Twenty years,’ replied the master.
    ‘Twenty years! What if I practice day and night with all my effort’
    ‘Thirty years,’ was the Master’s reply.
    ‘How is it that each time I say I will work harder, you tell me that it will take longer,’ the boy asked.
    ‘The answer is clear. When one eye is fixed upon your destination, there is only one eye left with which to find the way.’ “

Leave a Reply

