in the tea house

Standard

I’d over heard the tea-master talking to three Bhikkhuni (Buddhist nuns) about wild green tea. I asked if the Korean tea I usually buy is wild and he said that it was organic but not wild. I told him that I hadn’t tried wild tea before, then. Soon, to my delight, he prepared a pot and took out a package of wild tea, hand made by a monk in the south-western region of Korea, steaming and roasting it nine times to attain its fullest potential (gu jung/gu po).

I thought it tasted very similar to a high quality Chinese green tea, just much softer. The tea master didn’t agree when I asked if he thought it tasted similar, though!

Myo Gak Seunim (Venerable Hyo Gak), Gu Jung/Gu Po
2011.2.7
(50g/$100)

 

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

